How Many Days in Jail for Domestic Violence?
Regardless if this is your 1st offense or if there were serious injuries, the State of California typically imposes a minimum sentence of 30 days in jail. Additional penalties include: ‘batterer program’, medical/property/mental health/lost wages restitution, loss of custody, & a restraining order.
When it comes to jail time for domestic violence, it depends on whether it is a misdemeanor or a felony. Every misdemeanor in the state of California runs the gamut from 0 days in custody to up to 365 days.
If it's a felony, again, you can have no time in county jail, you can do up to a couple months in county jail, all the way to two, three, or four years in state prison. It's going to depend on your criminal history, it's going to depend on what the person is claiming happened, and what the cops can see happen based on the injuries. You're not going to get through that and get out of it without prison time, if that's what you're looking at, without an attorney from our firm.
You need to call us immediately, so we can start working the case from day one.