What Do I Need to Know Before Buying a Firearm?
When you live in California and want to buy a firearm, there are a few rules and regulations that must be followed. It is essential to pay attention so that you don’t find yourself facing criminal weapons charges. Here is some helpful information from the Rancho Cucamonga criminal defense attorney team at Newman & Allen.
Who Can Purchase a Gun in California?
To purchase a gun in California, you must be a resident with valid identification. Also, you must pass a background check. Anyone who has been convicted of felony, including violent use a firearm, does not qualify. Sex offenders or anyone ruled incompetent to stand trial may not own a gun. Individuals who have been convicted of a crime on California’s list of misdemeanors, including gun-related crimes, are banned from purchasing guns for 10 years.
The Gun Buying Process in California
Eligible people must follow a process to purchase firearms in California. After selecting a gun, a person must visit a licensed California firearms dealer. Every gun purchase requires a Firearm Safety Certificate. This means that an individual must pass a short written test and must pay a $25 fee.
Next, the individual must complete paperwork to record the sale. There is a 10-day waiting period before the gun is released from the dealer. However, the unloaded weapon must be placed inside of a "lock box" when it is picked up.
Open Carry and Concealed Weapons
It is important to comprehend that California is a "may issue" state for permits to carry concealed weapons. On the other hand, open carrying is allowed in certain areas. For example, handguns may be openly carried in rural areas. Also, it is allowed to carry openly if a person believes that he or she is in severe danger.
Places Where Firearms are Not Allowed in California
In California, there are a few places that a person cannot bring a gun.
- Public buildings
- Government facilities
- Governor's mansion
- Airport/passenger terminal
- Public transit facilities
If a person violates these rules, he or she may be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. Misdemeanors are punishable with up to a year in jail. Felonies are punishable with up to three years in jail.
If you find yourself facing criminal weapons charges, the lawyers at Newman & Allen are ready to help. If you need assistance from a Rancho Cucamonga criminal defense attorney, call our office at (909) 328-6101.